BERNARD + EDITH announce the release of debut album "Jem" and unveil new track "Tidal Wave".

Bella Union are thrilled to announce the release of Jem, the debut album from hotly-tipped Manchester-based electronic-pop duo BERNARD + EDITH, on 11th May. Already firmly established within the city's underground music scene, Greta 'Edith' Carroll and Nick 'Bernard' Delap draw on influences ranging from Fever Ray to Portishead via Cocteau Twins, David Lynch, Kate Bush and Japan to create the most deliciously dark art-pop/soul. The band have just unveiled a new track entitled 'Tidal Wave', complete with a moving image, which can be viewed HERE and will be playing a sold-out show at the Shacklewell Arms this week… Date/info below:

Thursday 26th February – LONDON – Shacklewell Arms **(SOLD-OUT!!)**

In mid-2014 the band released their debut single 'Poppy' on the excellent SWAYS Records to much acclaim, followed at the end of the year by 'Wurds', their first for Bella Union. Jem expands on these early declarations with a rich soundscape that dazzles with its inventive spread of colour and texture, taking a road less travelled to a more uniquely slanted place within the current pantheon of electronic pop.

Bernard + Edith’s unconventional approach starts with using their middle names for a band name, which evokes the image of an older couple rather than a pair in their early twenties who instantly bonded over music after meeting as teenagers. Theirs is a true collaboration, jointly creating the music and beats (their videos and stage projections too), bringing different influences to the union but meshing them to sublime effect. “Nick was more into indie and electronica and I was a huge jazz fan, singers like Nina Simone, Billie Holiday and Julie London,” says Greta. “But then together we veered toward more experimental composition, like Meredith Monk and Philip Glass. And Twin Peaks was major for us, not just the soundtrack but the imagery and the weirdness.”

The album is a multi-faceted jewel, from the lush Cocteaus-shiver of ‘Crocodiles’ to the exquisite Eastern climes of ‘China’ and the R&B twist of ‘Poppy’. What unites all 13 tracks is a beguiling fusion of intimacy and sensuality with something more mysterious and spectral. Jem will be released 11th May on Bella Union. Album artwork, photo and tracklisting below:

Jem tracklisting:
1. Wurds
2. Dagger
3. Crocodile
4. Tidal Wave
5. Jem
6. China
7. Heartache
8. Poppy
9. I Will Be
10. Rosemary
11. Underwater
12. Girls Night Out
13. Young Woman