Before there was THE SHINS, there was FLAKE MUSIC. This is Flake Music : Their original and only full-lenght album remixed and remastered.

James Mercer (The Shins, Broken Bells) formed Flake Music in Albuquerque, New Mexico in 1992 with Neal Langford on guitar, Phil Higgs and then Marty Crandall on bass and Jesse Sandoval on drums. Flake Music was a collaborative affair with each member contributing to the songwriting process. From 1992 to 1997, Flake Music released several singles before releasing When You Land Here, It’s Time to Return in 1997. Upon the album’s release, Flake Music began touring largely due to support from Modest Mouse.

In 1996, Mercer started The Shins as an additional outlet for his songwriting, eventually releasing The Shins' acclaimed debut Oh, Inverted World was released in 2001 on Sub Pop.

Flake Music’s When You Land Here, It’s Time to Return was originally released on Northern California label Omnibus Records. This reissue includes the full original album, remixed by Kennie Takahashi and remastered by J.J. Golden at Golden Mastering, and a reinterpretation of the album art.

1. Spanway Hits
2. Blast Valve
3. Roziere
4. Structo
5. Candy Dish of Diamonds
6. Deluca
7. Mieke
8. On the Playground, In the Wind
9. The Shins
10. Faded Polaroids
11. Vantage