“[‘Don’t Believe’ is a] soulful serenade to a detached lover, it blends laid-back drums, soft guitar and fuzzy, plucky synthesizers to make a smooth '70s sound.” - NPR

“understated, R&B-addled new wave jam.” - Stereogum

“Slow Dancer makes tender, striking and … slow R&B that’s hook-heavy” - Paste

“This is old-school, baby-making stuff.” - WFUV

“XXXX” - Noisey

Melbourne, Australia’s Slow Dancer - the moniker of singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Simon Okely - recently announced that he signed with ATO Records, shared his intoxicating new single “Don’t Believe” via NPR Music, and made his U.S. live debut. Today the social worker by day, soulful songbird by night reveals the details of his forthcoming sophomore album. In A Mood will be released June 9th on ATO Records, and Noisey is streaming a new single off the record now alongside a profile on the fast-rising artist. Listen to “It Goes On” HERE. See below for album art and tracklisting, and pre-order In A Mood HERE.

Slow Dancer has also announced a North American tour in support of In A Mood. XXXXXXXX WITH LIVE VIDEOS, TBD IF PASTE AND STEREOGUM WANT TO PREMIERE. See below to find a show near you, and get your tickets HERE.

Simon Okely is lost in time. Or at least, his songs as Slow Dancer sound that way: warm, near-whispered indie-rock love letters to the 60s and 70s rhythm and blues records his parents would play on family car rides down Australia’s winding west coast, heavy on nostalgia and even heavier on imagination. His 2014 debut Surrender was a melt-your-heart, Fleetwood Mac-with-Neil Young licks “pop postcard” from another time, another place. Now returning in 2017 with In A Mood, Okely is aiming even higher, featuring a “more expansive, more ambitious” sound that’s “less about the stories we tell ourselves when in love and more about the moods that can come creeping over a relationship” at any time. It’s no wonder his music is already striking a chord with fans of Mac DeMarco, Tobias Jesso Jr, Connan Mockasin and more, with his latest single accumulating over a quarter of a million Spotify streams in just a few weeks.

Okely grew up near West Australian city Perth, in a “tiny farming town” where, as a small kid, he would bring a toy ukulele to church every Sunday and strum along as though he was playing the hymns. After growing up and learning the guitar aged nine, he inherited his grandmother’s piano and gradually became fascinated with the intense, intimate folk of Nick Drake, rhythm and blues vanguards Otis Redding and Wilson Pickett and his parents’ favourite Van Morrison.

After moving to Melbourne in 2013, Okely began writing as Slow Dancer in 2014, naming the project after a lyric from a song on Surrender that was “essentially an instruction manual for slow dancing with someone who is experiencing apathy.” Key to the Slow Dancer sound is the environment Okely writes and records in: alone, entirely at night, in a bedroom that “somehow crams in a drum kit, a piano, some guitars, and a bed,” he laughs. “This has always been my journal, my love letter to the music I love. My concentration will always be on making the music that pleases me, and if it pleases other people too, that’s also great. It’s been a wonderful ride so far.”

Simon Okely is lost in time. You should get lost in time with him.


1. In The Water
2. Bitter
3. Don't Believe
4. I Would
5. I'm Done Waiting
6. It Goes On
7. Heaven Knows
8. I Was Often
9. In A Mood
10. I've Been Thinking