Sydney-based quartet Spookyland are pleased to announce the release of their new track God’s Eyes and arrival of their debut album Beauty Already Beautiful in May.
A marked progression from their debut Rock & Roll Weakling EP, God’s Eyes is an impressive showcase of Marcus Gordon’s striking vocal and distinctive lyrical style.
Speaking of the track, vocalist Marcus Gordon says:
“A whole lot of eyeball metaphors in this song. It’s about something going wrong along the way, or at least wondering if something did. The line “god’s eyes have to blink’ is repeated a lot, so blaming God for the world’s woes can seem reasonable, pathetic, funny or even annoying, all in one listen”
The band last visited Europe in 2014 following a successful trip to New York for that year’s CMJ Music Marathon.
Upon returning home, the band – already recipients of much acclaim from the Australian media, stepped back to concentrate on writing new songs providing the backbone of Beauty Already Beautiful. An appearance at 2015’s Lollapolooza in Chicago – hailed by Consequence of Sound as one of their Top Ten acts not to miss– afforded the band time to head off to ARC Studios in Omaha, Nebraska; home of producer Mike Mogis and location of recent recordings of First Aid Kit, Jenny Lewis and Bright Eyes amongst others. There they recorded the album with Sydney native and long-time collaborator Tony Buchen at the helm.
Beauty Already Beautiful will be available through Play It Again Sam on CD, vinyl and digital formats.
The full track listing is:
1. Abuse
2. Nowhereland
3. Big Head
4. Champions
5. Discipline
6. Rebellion
7. Prophet
8. Turn
9. Can’t Own You
10. God’s Eyes
11. Bulimic